Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Knipex Plier Wrench Size

us Offline ToolJoe

• No Life Club
Knipex Plier Wrench Size
on: July 22, 2017, 03:59:31 PM
I've been pondering getting one of the Knipex Plier Wrenches. Is there one size that works for general usage? I don't think I'd go with one of the bigger ones.
I knew my wife was a keeper when she transitioned from calling it a knife thingy to a multi-tool.

I might be crazy but it's kept me from going insane- Waylon Jennings

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
Re: Knipex Plier Wrench Size
Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 05:18:33 PM
The the 12.5cm (5") is too cute to be for general use, and the 15cm (6") tends to be just a bit small for stuck stuff. So the 18cm or 25cm is about right for general use.
"Simple is hard"
"Hard is hard too"
(Partial disclosure: I design tools for a living).

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: July 22, 2017, 06:20:07 PM
On a sidenote: Since the patent has expired several copies from other good brands have also hit the market. You might want to check out the versions from Garant, Wiha or Holex as well.
"Simple is hard"
"Hard is hard too"

us Offline smiller43147

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: July 27, 2017, 03:13:59 AM
On a sidenote: Since the patent has expired several copies from other good brands have also hit the market. You might want to check out the versions from Garant, Wiha or Holex as well.

Good to know, thanks.
- Steve

us Offline cody6268

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #4 on: July 30, 2017, 02:44:12 AM
Most of my main use pliers are somewhere around 6" or 7", a size that allows the pliers to open wide, give enough leverage for tough jobs, and still fit in a pants pocket, either my front pocket or the plier pocket most carpenter's pants have. 

au Offline gregozedobe

• Apparently it is possible to have too many tools;)
Reply #5 on: July 30, 2017, 04:38:34 AM
Choosing a size depends on three factors: