Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Hvac/electrician multi

Offline Intercept

• New User
Hvac/electrician multi
on: December 10, 2017, 04:55:15 AM
Hi all, I'm an hvac technician looking to downsize my every day tool load with a multitool geared towards wiring. I'm really leaning towards SOG with their dedicated wire stripper (add in) component, compound leverage, hex bit driver (power play and poweraccess) and nifty easy opening.

I have looked into some Klein multis, most hvac forums talk about leatherman, and gerber looks to have some nice (but incredibly expensive) ones as well. I'm in a relatively small city in Canada, without much access to put my hands on these tools physically before I buy them. Plus I don't have enough money to throw out to buy more than one, so I need to get this right the first time.

Features that are really important are:
- Wire strippers. Haven't used anything other than the specialized tool, so using a can opener that can double as a stripper puts me off. I may be wrong in feeling this way, feel free to let me know.
- Hex bit driver. I already carry my most used bits (5/16, 1/4, #2 Robertson, etc) in my pocket all the time, so I would like non-proprietary bits and quick access to the holder.
- Knife, if possible with a blade that hooks outwards ( or is at least straight) to make cutting wire sheaths easier. I have seen some serrated blades that look like this.
- Fine slotted bit (jewlery bit?) for terminal strips on circuit boards and thermostats.

I have done some browsing online, but I'm a complete multitool noob. I would appreciate any opinions and advice you can offer. Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk

au Offline gregozedobe

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Apparently it is possible to have too many tools;)
Re: Hvac/electrician multi
Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 05:06:52 AM