Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Lew's 30-Day Rebar Challenge

lew · 170 · 6729

Offline lew

Lew's 30-Day Rebar Challenge
on: January 19, 2018, 03:12:16 AM
As I said in another post, I have a Rebar and a SAK but mostly use the SAK out of habit.  Someone suggested a 30-day challenge so I thought, "why not?"  Today is Day 1.  I am an IT consultant and sometimes have to get my hands dirty installing computers and peripherals.  Today, I installed a printer for a customer.

Printer in the box (and the extra toner cartridge that I didn't open):

Opened with the Rebar.  Tried to use the can opener but it is too dull.

USB extension in a clamshell package.

Opened with the Rebar.

Sorry, no action shots.  I didn't want to ask my client to take pictures while I was charging him.

I have to admit I doubt I'll make it through 30 days, but so far it has kept my SAK out of my pocket.  If I do make it, you're in for some boring stuff!
« Last Edit: January 19, 2018, 03:13:21 AM by lew »

us Offline Nix

• Absolute Zombie Club
Re: Lew's 30-Day Rebar Challenge
Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 04:19:44 AM
I completed the Rebar challenge back in December. I thought it was a great challenge. Like you, I'm mostly a pocket knife guy and the challenge really got me to warm up to the Rebar. Stick with it! The whole point of the challenge is to get you out of your comfort zone and trying something a little different. I definitely had to adapt, but after a while, carrying the Rebar felt quite routine.

I'm in the middle of a Swiss Spirit challenge right now and....I confess....I sort of miss the Rebar and definitely miss a SAK in my pocket. Old habits are hard to change!

I would think that in your career field you might find the Bit Driver a huge asset with the Rebar:

Slips onto the Phillips driver and lets you use a myriad different bits. I got one during my challenge (Thanks, Poncho!) and love it.