Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Which Multitool for a Nurse?

Offline Nephron44

Which Multitool for a Nurse?
on: April 17, 2018, 03:06:50 AM
Hello everyone!

I am a long time reader of this forum, but I haven't posted much...I plan to change that!

Anyway, I am a nurse and am also trained as a tactical medic. When I am not at work (hospital), I ALWAYS carry a sturdy folding knife (hospital doesn't allow blades).  However, both at work and at home, I keep finding more and more situations in which I find myself wishing I had a pair of pliers and a screwdriver.

I am looking to add a multitool to my EDC in addition to my main folding knife. I would like to also be able to carry this tool at work. I would like to be able to carry this tool in my pocket, with or without a clip, since my scrubs do not have a belt, but have plenty of pockets!

I want the took to have decent pliers, decent screwdrivers (or exchangeable bits), and a VERY small or, even better, nonexistent blade as I will always have my main blade when a knife is allowed. I also want to be able to carry the tool without a sheath...just throw it in my pocket and go.

Models I looked at and absolutely do not want are the leatherman juice, style, micro, and squirt (too small), and the leatherman raptor shears (no pliers or drivers). I also looked at the gerber mp600 bladeless, but I read that the plier head does not lock into the body.

I thought about the bladeless rebar, but the tools do not seem very strong and seem like they will get loose over time and "flop" out when using the pliers.

I also thought a out modding my own, but I don't want to void the warranty, and I don't like the look of the exposed liner locks when outside tools are removed.

I also looked into the Sog Powerlock with customized tools, but it seems like it would open too easily in my pocket.

I'm sorry I'm so picky! Hopefully you experts can help!

I appreciate any thoughts!

Thanks!