Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

The Great Debate

CQC-7 · 27 · 4519

us Offline CQC-7

• No Life Club
  • Right Wing Psychopath!
The Great Debate
on: February 21, 2007, 05:09:57 AM
I was sitting there today wondering about somthing.  Victorinox or Wenger?  I am quite partial to Victorinox although I have a wenger or two or three.  What do yall think?

Offline aksd

Re: The Great Debate
Reply #1 on: February 21, 2007, 02:22:07 PM
I own 7 Victroinox and 1 Wenger, but if Wenger were available in India I'd own a few more. I'm a Mechanical Engineer student and te tool selection offered in Various Wenger models are by far more useful to me than some of the Victorinox knives, their newer collections are quite advanced whe compared to Victorinox with the EvoGrip and lockable tools. THe Wengrip offers fabulous pliers, as per the review posted here. I'm not partial to either becaus eif its out camping I'd carry my Trailmaster, but for city use I'd go for a Wenger.

Regards,
Akshay

Offline Tom Munch

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 04:03:05 PM
Wengers seem to be better designed, but the blades are less robust.  I really, really like my Wengers, but I find that they don't hold up to tough jobs as well.  For example, in my impromptu scissors test last month the Wenger blades spread very easily when cutting thicker materials.  But again the design - EvoGrips, locking screwdrivers, locking blades, serrated scissors, slip-joint pliers, universal wrench - is very nice.

us Offline NutSAK

• Admin Team
  • Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 07:48:54 PM
I own about 50 Victorinox knives and 2 Wengers.  It really just comes down to the fact that I like the Victorinox tool selection better.  For instance, Wenger has no substitute for Vic's can opener/screwdriver tool that works so well on phillips screws.