Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Detron's Calculator Experience, or even more proof I am a nerd

detron · 408 · 16253

us Offline detron

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Tool Carrying Linux User
Even though I am not an engineer, teacher in a field that involves math, surveyor, and my jobs math requirement ends at binary for subnetting, I love calculators. 
I have been fascinated with them since about the age of 12.
the basic 4, 5, or 6 functions calculators do not interest me, unless they vintage, and were the high end devices of their time.  I am fascinated by Graphing, Scientific, and some financial calculators.

I have been posting about calculators on Facebook, but Grant recommended I post them here, I guess I did not have enough Facebook friends to allow enough of the world to know how big of a nerd I am, so he felt the 6200+ members here might help ensure my nerdness is known far and wide, even around the globe.

This all started when I was in 7th Grade, and My Mom and I were in a store, and I saw a scientific calculator. My Mom bought it for me and I carried this every day until I upgraded to a graphing calculator 3 years later. the Calculator was a Casio FX-82A. I do not have the original one she bought me, but I do have one I bought at a flea market a few years back. I remember it was a store in Southern Pines North Carolina, but not which one. I remember my amazement when I saw it on the shelf.

this calculator is lacking compared to today's calculators, but is a fine calculator with a nice uncluttered look, and one feature I wish was still a standard,  a physical power switch.  there is little chance of killing your battery due to accidental button pushes.
If I can help, let me know 

us Offline detron

My Second Calculator