Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Do you get sentimental about your sak?

us Offline gustophersmob

• No Life Club
  • <><
Do you get sentimental about your sak?
on: July 30, 2018, 12:12:39 AM
Just curious, do you get sentimental about your sak (or other knives/tools)?

I tend to not get too attached to objects in general, but I don't seem to have an attachment to the pioneer I've been carrying for a few years. I was carrying it at the birth of all 4 of the kids and it's traveled many places with me.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2018, 01:23:13 AM by gustophersmob »
If the trees blew down the wind and no one was around, would the alphabet song really go backwards?

us Offline Nix

• Absolute Zombie Club
Re: Do you get sentimental about your sak?
Reply #1 on: July 30, 2018, 12:29:28 AM
There are some tools I have that were with me for certain special events or dates in my life. Those tools have a sentimental quality for me, just because they remind me of that event or a person. I still miss my first SAK, the one my grandfather gave me.

So, yes.  :D

us Offline NorCalJim

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: July 30, 2018, 01:21:19 AM
I am very nostalgic and remember how my grandfather (born in 1880) used his pocket knife frequently in the course of each day. Recalling this use led me on an acquisition journey that eventually resulted in my SAK interest.  I now own somewhere north of 100 SAKs. My own daily SAK use often reminds me of my grandfather and his pocket knife routines.

:climber:

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #3 on: July 30, 2018, 07:17:04 AM
I dont tend to get sentimental over things.  I tried to think if I had a tool that evoked some kind of emotion.  Nothing came to mind.  I do have some SAKs that would be the last to go if I had to get rid of all but say 2 or 3.  Its neat tho that some of you have such fond memories tied to these wonderful little tools. 
Esse Quam Videri