Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Gerber multi tools compared to other makes

Offline mtoolman

Gerber multi tools compared to other makes
on: September 07, 2018, 11:29:30 AM
I am a newbie in multitools, and adter reading about diffrent mt makes such as Leatherman, Vict, Gerber, and went for the Leatherman surge.

But I see posts about the Gerber, and passonate fans and users and collectors of Gerber.
I have never owned or used Gerber tools, and they look cheaply made than LM or Vict.

But maybe they are as strong, reliable and good working tools as others? I am not sure.

What are the some strong points and attractions of Gerber tools? Could gerber be compared to LM or Vict?

Thanks
« Last Edit: September 07, 2018, 11:35:32 AM by mtoolman »

wales Offline magentus

• Admin Team
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • mmmmm SAKrelicious
Re: Gerber multi tools compared to other makes
Reply #1 on: September 07, 2018, 12:03:03 PM
Welcome to  :MTO: !

The first multi I had was a Vic Spirit - pretty much perfect in every way  :D Only problem was here in the UK locking blades are illegal to carry.

Kev Davey senmt me a Gerber MP400 and Toolslinger sent me a '600. The tolerances are looser for the Gerbers over the Vic and LM, but this can be an advantage - They rattle and move but don't get clogged up. They are very tough and well made and the one hand opening with a flick of the wrist is both satisfying and handy.

The best thing about the Gerber though IMO is that they are easily modded. I have 3 MP400's now and all of them are bladeless -I can take them anywhere  :ahhh

Also, the philips driver can accept a bit adaptor and increase your options for driver capability.

I still have my Spirit (in fact I've just used it to cut some wire coathangers down) but the Gerber, particularly the '400 is my fave. It's the AK47 of the multitool world.

Hope this helps!  :cheers:

Pics:
20171012_131726.jpg