Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Beginning cleaning/oiling tips

Offline Mith Smithy

Beginning cleaning/oiling tips
on: September 30, 2018, 08:05:48 AM
Hey everyone! Nice to find this website and to meet you.
My father introduced me to these knives. He was an avid collector of all sorts of cool small gadgets. He gifted me a blue classic when I was 6. I lost it somehow when I was around 10. But my mother somehow dug out an old backpack I used when I was little and it was in there! So I've been carrying it on my keyring again for the last 10 years. So it's a solid 22 years old and I love it to death. I also have a red Spartan I love for more serious carry.
I was wondering if you guys have tips to clean both of them though, and sharpen them. I've seen videos of sharpening knives and I got a basic whetstone but I'm scared to death of ruining my blades lol. How do I do it properly? What's the ideal angle to pull it at, etc.?
Moreover, both of them need cleaning and oil, especially the Spartan - I've carried it hiking long distance trails and it feels like it's full of sand and dirt. Should I just go all out and clean them in hot soapy water inside and out, and then re-oil? In which case, should I really get the fancy Victorinox oil, or is a standard cheap alternative equally good?
Thanks guys! :)
-Sporky

00 Offline Mechanickal

• Zombie Apprentice
Re: Beginning cleaning/oiling tips
Reply #1 on: September 30, 2018, 08:47:06 AM
Hey there!

To clean any SAK without speSmurfpillsed tools, I give them a warm soapy bath with all tools opened fully.

I use an old toothbrush and hand soap to brush out the entire inside and outside. Don't forget to close the tools again and brush the tips of the backsprings too! They collect allot of junk.

Once you're done, dry it with a towel and let it air dry further (or use a hot air gun or hair dryer to speed it up)