Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

F1R vs S1R, battle of the pocketbeams! A guideline.

00 Offline Mechanickal

• Zombie Apprentice
on: December 09, 2018, 11:29:42 AM
I've been carrying my Led Lenser F1R for almost 3 years now. I got it as soon as it came out.

For those of you who don't know it:

Brand: Led Lenser
Model: F1R
Max output: 1000lm
Weight: 67 gram
Length: 11.5 cm
Width (body): 2.16 cm
Width (head): 2.5 cm
Energy source: 18650 Lithium
IP X8
Level 3 anodising

Since the release, prices came down by quite alot here.

Inside the (rather nice gift) box one can find quite alot of stuff.

Ranging from the light itself, to the external charger (needed to keep the whole waterproof), a spare O-ring, cleaning cloth and brush, lanyard, clip, battery and a strike bezel that can be switched over with the stainless steel designer bezel.

The light contains 3 light modes:
- Low (10 ANSI lumen, 60h) 
- Mid (250 ANSI lumen) 
- High (1000 ANSI lumen, 3h) 

Keep in mind, the stated runtime means from activation to drop-out. So you won't get the stated runtime with the continous stated lumens.

The light modes are easy selectable and the UI allows the user to select a "high power first" or "low power first" mode.

The battery keeps the light powered more than decent enough.

During camping trips for 2-3 weeks I didn't have to recharge the light even once. On top of that, the F1R can also handle 2 CR123A batteries in line just as well! So there is no excuse to run out of power with this powerhouse!! The 1000lm is great to have, but used rarely. It's comforting to know it's there though.
No fancy SOS or strobe modes, which I like.

This light has gone quite some places with me and never let me down.  I keep the strike bezel on just in case, but put the stainless steel bezel on when travelling abroad.