Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A Long Tale of a Modded Rebar

za Offline Max Stone

• Absolutely No Life Club
A Long Tale of a Modded Rebar
on: January 22, 2019, 11:02:41 PM
A Long Tale of a Modded Rebar...grab a coffee if you plan to read this  :)

I’ve now had some time with my modded Rebar, so I though it would be worthwhile to give some feedback. As I’m no expert modder (this was my first effort), I thought it would be valuable to share my experience. It may be of interest to others that are also new to this or may be considering modifying their Rebar.

I welcome feedback from the experts, as I’m sure there are things that I could have done differently or better. A lot of what I did was based on what I read in this forum with a healthy dose of caution thrown into the mix. I’m going to break down my story into 4 sections, released as I get time to write them:

Rebar recap…why it’s a good base for modifications.

Level 1 – Fit & Finish…fixing the basics.

Level 2 – Non-destructive Mods…some simple changes.

Level 3 – Permanent Mods…no going back after these.

A Word of Caution

Before I get started, a couple of disclaimers. Firstly, what I did to my Rebar invalidated my 25-year warranty instantly and is unlikely to impress anyone at Leatherman. While it is possible to undo the mods right up to and including Level 2, you will leave a trace of your naughtiness the moment you crack the thread lock. Secondly, working with razor-sharp tools that rotate at 35,000 RPM can be dangerous. A Dremel may be small, but a wayward cutting disk will slice you up worse than a rabid hedgehog.