Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Anyone need a compact EDC compound cutter?

Vidar · 28 · 5744

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
Anyone need a compact EDC compound cutter?
on: May 08, 2019, 07:27:20 PM
As I've worked through various tool concepts over the years I've accumulated a bunch of technically interesting ones, but which for various reasons might not be feasible products on their own. Some fall in the maybe category. A EDC compound cutter is one such item.

Do anyone have any decent volume use for pocket sized specialized cutter? Say cutting capacity around 3mm (1/8") or thereabouts. Wire, welding, spikes, screws, fences, iron packaging bands maybe? Other uses?
"Simple is hard"
"Hard is hard too"
(Partial disclosure: I design tools for a living).

us Offline cody6268

• Absolutely No Life Club
Re: Anyone need a compact EDC compound cutter?
Reply #1 on: May 09, 2019, 12:41:39 AM
I have to cut fencing wire all the time, so sure.  I can't stand to lug around a heavy fencing plier when I'm just checking the fences on my own, without my pack. Also, perhaps make one handle a screwdriver/pry bar for pulling steeples?

nz Online zoidberg

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #2 on: May 09, 2019, 08:37:39 AM
I also deal with fencing enough to have handy multiple compound leverage diagonal cutters, pliers, mini bolt cutters, nippers etc etc.
While I would like a compact cutter for the day pack/pocket I don't think I would like the cost of such an item.

I am curious though so how compact are we talking here?

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 09:40:06 AM
I am curious though so how compact are we talking here?