Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Looking for slimmest scissors and saw 346

Jr. Member Posts: 96
Looking for slimmest scissors and saw
« on: May 25, 2019, 03:59:23 AM »
I’m very new to SAK - been mostly a plier based MT guy.  But, I’m looking for a scissor and saw to compliment my EDC center drive.

I see the huntsman, but that has LOTS of stuff i. Don’t need. Is there anything smaller?

Can someone make me a 2 layer tool with the scissors and saw?  I wouldn’t mind both metal and wood saws if I had to add somethings.
No Life Club Posts: 2,867 One Day Closer To Death
Re: Looking for slimmest scissors and saw
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2019, 04:47:41 AM »
maybe an older discontinued model has that configuration, but I don't think there is one now, huntsman or the evolution 18 version are probably the "smallest"
The evo has no hook, but is probably about same width as huntsman.

BB :B:
No Life Club Posts: 1,091
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2019, 04:56:35 AM »
Welcome to the world of SAK!
 :cheers:

With regard to current production models with both scissors and saw, I'm afraid a four-layer knife (Huntsman, Fieldmaster, Evo 17, or Evo 18) is as small as it gets.

The saw takes a full layer (typically with no back spring tool).  The scissors also take a full layer (typically with hook on the back spring).  I don't see any technical reason why a two-layer mod consisting of just these two layers could not be done.

Other mod options might include Compact + saw, or Huntsman (or similar) - opener layer, either of which would be a three-layer mod.

FWIW, I find the Huntsman (or equivalents) to be easy pocket carry, though not everyone agrees.
Global Moderator No Life Club Posts: 2,375
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2019, 07:35:29 AM »
^^^^  Yep - That is the story