Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Need help with simple repair of multitool scissors!

Offline mikekoz

I have a cheap multitool where the scissors spring came disconnected from the lower part of the implement.

0608191201-1" border="0

0615190810-1" border="0

I need to put these two pieces together so the spring works with the scissors. I have tried 3 types of gorilla glue and nothing works. The last type I used was epoxy. I have never used it before, but followed the instructions, mixed it like it said, put the pieces together, clamped them , and let them sit overnight. When I remove the clamp, almost right after I open and close the scissors from the tool, the two pieces separate. I have a soldering iron, but am not too good with it! The two photos I attached should give you an idea of what I am trying to do. Can anybody offer any advice??  Thanks!

us Offline gerleatherberman

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Man of Multiple MultiTool Manufacturers
Re: Need help with simple repair of multitool scissors!
Reply #1 on: June 15, 2019, 03:20:39 PM
Have you tried making sure the pieces were aligned and then tightening the tool pivot?
Looks like the spring section has two protrusions that sit into dimples on the blade section. A loose pivot could have caused the setup to slip out.  :think:
Pontificating particularly pious positions pertaining to polymorphic paraphernalia. G-Man.

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #2 on: June 15, 2019, 03:29:59 PM
 :iagree:

No glue is used in MT construction.

fi Offline Antti Lammi

• No Life Club
  • Only Tools Matters
Reply #3 on: June 15, 2019, 06:20:48 PM
Try add very small screw to it, it looks like same style as Charge/Wave scissors so it needs to lock before it works. If there is hole in both parts you could add small piece of rod so it works again

Only Tools Matters

Offline mikekoz

Reply #4 on: June 15, 2019, 07:58:36 PM