Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Looking for UK legal multitool with a bit holder

dinth · 16 · 2381

Offline dinth

Looking for UK legal multitool with a bit holder
on: August 13, 2019, 04:08:49 PM
Hey. Im new here, as i have created my account to ask you for your opinion.
Im a happy owner of Leatherman Wave, unfortunately i cannot legally carry it in the UK . Im an IT engineer and while different tools included in Wave are very helpful at my work, i couldn't justify why exactly do i need a 3in locking blade on my way to/from work.

So basically, im looking for a multitool which would have:
- a non-locking, <3in blade - can be smaller, i actually only use it for opening parcels, cardboard boxes and cutting off electric cables.
- pliers
- 1/4" bit holder (to use with different kinds of hex, pentalobe, etc bits)

I found few options here:
- Gerber Balance - it would seem to be almost perfect tool if the bit holder would hold 1/4" bits. Unfortunately non-standard bits are huge turn off.
- Leatherman Juice CS4 together with Leatherman bit holder - but im little bit worried if it would be sturdy enough. Ive seen reviews saying that tools tend to get little bit wobbly. Ive seen reviews saying that the bit holder doesnt fit the screwdriver very well. Obviously after years of usage, things will get even looser.   
- Older Leathermans with Leatherman bit holder - those are hardly available in the UK.
- Victorinox Cybertool - bits are non-standard, although it is possible to get third party ones. I will never use many of the tools included. Im also not a big of swiss knife form factor.

Do you have any advice regarding this choice, or maybe you know other devices i should consider?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 06:39:50 PM by dinth »

fi Online Antti Lammi

• No Life Club
  • Only Tools Matters
Re: Looking for UK legal multitool with a bit holder
Reply #1 on: August 13, 2019, 05:25:49 PM