Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Multi tool brands

00 Offline CarbideCruzer

Multi tool brands
on: November 27, 2019, 03:06:34 PM
As most here know, there are multiple brands of multi tools and multiple variations.  We all have our preferences and chances are, a good majority of us own many brands.   As I am relatively new to this specific genre, I wonder how many brands currently or have existed?   Gerber, Leatherman, Victorinox, Swiss Tech, Bear and Sons, Kershaw, Seber Tech, SOG, Schrade, Buck, Flip Grip and I am sure there are others. 

Out of every brand I've mentioned and do some of the brands I've listed, I prefer Gerber.  At least their Portland Oregon assembled with some USA made parts.  What I use now on a near daily basis is the modern Gerber MP 400 and one of the best features about this is you can open this with one hand.  That and it's not spring loaded, albeit I do enjoy the Gerber Center Drive for more heavier duty tasks.  Ease of use, in the case of MP 400, not to heavy, but certainly not light duty and has every tool I need for what I most commonly use  this for. 

Perhaps this has been asked before, but in the spirit  of creating conversation I am interested in reading what other's thoughts are.

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Re: Multi tool brands
Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 03:18:26 PM
I prefer Leatherman tools. Tried the Swisstool and Spirit and sold them both. Had a Schrade tough tool and sold it as well. I  do have a BN  MP600 that I modded that I  like.

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #2 on: November 27, 2019, 03:33:49 PM