Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A septuagenarians pocket knife.

cbl51 · 28 · 1092

us Offline cbl51

• No Life Club
A septuagenarians pocket knife.
on: April 21, 2020, 06:10:29 PM
I'm an old fart. I'll get that right out in front at the start. I've been carrying a knife if some sort for over 60 years.. Its been a very long road and being a knife nut means that a hell of a lot of knives have come and gone. Big knives, little knives, cheap knives, an high dollar custom knives like Randall's and others.

Over the course of 60 years of knife carry, I've come to a few conclusions. One, and the biggest one, is that I regret spending as much money on them as I did. Because of being a knife nut, and being obsessed with them, I was totally out of my mind in my younger days. The knife was a cult worship item with me, and had little to do with reality. Most of my friends and family thought I was nuts, and looking back on it all, they were right. I was nuts. Only in my late middle age around late 40's or early 50's I got a little more real world about it.

There was a period that was like the sun burning off a thick morning fog, and it was like coming out of a sort of temporary insanity, and I looked at all the crap I had and thought "What the hell were you thinking?" I did a big sell off of the stuff I could get my money back out of like the custom stuff and high end production stuff, and just gave away the rest. Kids, grandkids, friends, all got to pick through my knives. It was liberating. I felt like a great weight was lifted off my back and I kept some pocket knives of modest size, mostly SAK's. It was all I ever really needed anyways.