Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

swisstool or swisstool spirit?

Offline ecfiffer

swisstool or swisstool spirit?
on: January 18, 2009, 07:55:29 PM
i am looking to replace the POS china made mt that i found rumaging though an ex-employe's desk.  (dont freak out the person was gone for a month or two before salvaging their desk).  i have been looking more into MT's as of late, and thought that i'd score one when santa came by but he shafted me, darn clothes!)  i know i want to get one in black oxide.  i have narrowed my list down to one of two.  either the swisstool or the spirit.

i work as an it spec. at a hospital here in town so that means dealing a lot with computers/ printers/ wiring, data/telcomm stuff ya know.

those who have them (and im sure there are those that have multiple of each) could you chim inwith your 2 cents and let me know your honest opinion of both.   thanks!
'

Offline Leatherman123

• Absolutely No Life Club
Re: swisstool or swisstool spirit?
Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 09:18:10 PM
Have you considered a Victorinox Cybertool? A CT 34 would be ideal for your uses. But, if you need a Vic ST of some sort then I'd go for the Spirit. It's compact, relatively lite, and it has a ton of tools! The screwdrivers are rounded so they will slip.. Have you considered any Leatherman tools? Or do you have your heart set on a SwissTool?
B

Offline max6166

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 10:04:39 PM
Both the Spirit and SwissTool are excellent choices. This is a gross oversimplification, but they are almost the same tool in 2 different sizes. The Spirit is a regular size and the SwissTool is the heavy duty size.

There is an excellent thread here which compares the 2 tools in detail with photos that you should search for. It will show you the precise differences.