Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad by logging in.

Antivirus? 738

Head Turd Polisher Administrator He who has the most nuts, wins! Posts: 57,331 Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Antivirus?
« Reply #30 on: July 04, 2017, 01:39:01 PM »
I did it.

My paranoia won out and I bought a year subscription to McAfee.  I decided that in the end, the peace of mind was worth the $30 or so it cost.

Def

NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!

NEW PRODUCTS ADDED DAILY!
No Life Club Posts: 2,966
« Reply #31 on: July 04, 2017, 10:14:40 PM »
I've been using Avast (the free version) for the last ten years and I think it does the job a lot better than the Norton (that I bought ...) which I used before.

I don't like McAfee very much because it has installed (or tried to install) on my laptop on numerous occasions while installing/updating something else (at least I think it was McAfee ... old people and modern technology ::)).

"A mind is like a parachute. It doesn't work if it is not open"
Head Turd Polisher Administrator He who has the most nuts, wins! Posts: 57,331 Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
« Reply #32 on: July 06, 2017, 02:37:39 AM »
McAfee likes to try and install itself with browsers and I think Adobe products.

Def

NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!   NEW!

NEW PRODUCTS ADDED DAILY!
No Life Club Posts: 3,469
« Reply #33 on: July 06, 2017, 08:56:37 AM »
McAfee likes to try and install itself with browsers and I think Adobe products.

Def

Yep it likes to add it's pishing filter stuff and safe site scanner, etc if you let it.
No Life Club Posts: 3,761 You don't want to see me SMURF!
« Reply #34 on: July 06, 2017, 09:24:55 AM »
I've been using Avast (paid version, but nothing wrong with the free version) for years with absolutely no issues. :tu: