Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

2 Knockoffs, a Wenger Esquire, and a Victorinox Classic SD.

Chako · 10 · 8279

ca Offline Chako

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
This is my first SAK comparison.

As some of you know, I am just getting into Swiss Army Knife (SAK) collecting.  Because my collection is not that large, and my models limited, I will talk briefly about the very basic of models.

Keep in mind that for the longest time, I did not like SAK and SAK like objects (cheap knockoffs). I owned a cheap knockoff for many years, and absolutely hated it. My experiences with it sort of turned me off of a true Swiss Army Knife for the longest time. I decided to focus on multi tools because I had better success with them.

In fact, I just recently dug up the old cheapo from long term storage to add to the new SAK collection…not because of the fond memories I had of it, nor because of its quality and value. It will stand as reminder of what not to buy.  A lesson that was hard in coming, for I did buy a stainless steel version that I though looked nice. This was however, another cheap knockoff with the same issues that my first older version suffered from.  These cheap knockoffs exude a higher level of cheapness when placed next to a real SAK.  The only reason I am now getting into SAK collecting is due to the wonderful discussions found on this web site.

Now onto the short review…

From left to right: Stainless Steel SAK like object, my original SAK like object, Wenger Esquire, and Victorinox Classic SD.

SAK Like Objects V.S. Real SAK