Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Brand loyalty

Dunc · 50 · 4113

england Offline Dunc

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
  • Aggressive in defence
Brand loyalty
on: January 04, 2010, 10:15:53 AM
13th August 2006 , thats when I made my first post on here  :o doesn't time fly .At the time I had been EDCing a Victorinox Swisstool for 6 years. It wasn't my first mutlitool . I actually started out with a used Leatherman PST then traded for a Gerber 600 and then the Swisstool. I liked this tool the best  :D It was big , shiny and very strong and even the Leatherman Charge Ti I bought couldn't win a place on my belt for long and soon fell by the way side.
   I was truelly bitten by the Victorinox bug  :climber:  Why Leathermans where just tools that had wobbly handles , exploding bit drivers and rusted as soon as you looked at them , Gerber where crap and Sog was just something people bought to be different .I was by no means on my own in this way of thinking and soon several threads where popping up all over the forum about which brand was best .The Vic LM debate was the worst and some members even fell out over it  ::) Threads got locked , people left then came back ( then left again ) but the question still remained ( and still does ) "Which is best ? "

I probably think it was the first UK meetup that got me thinking  :think: It was seeing all those different tools and being able to try them out .I remember being impressed with a LM Wave which I thought was a more sensible option then the Charge and that kind of stuck in my mind .
  I started getting some older retired LMs for my collection , Supertools , PSTs and SideClips and although I did EDC them for a while ( mainly for articles for the forum ) I continued with the Swisstool .

It wasn't until I changed jobs and bought a LM Wave that I really started to consider LM as a viable option to my EDC , in fact it was so good it replaced my Swisstool as my work EDC  :o