Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Vic Climber: Review, mods, accessories + 28 min video

Offline Andreas

• No Life Club
Note: this is just copied directly from my website as I don't reckon many people read that, so any weird references etc is due to that:

I’ve worked part time as a janitor-ish guy at a museum for 7 years now and just had my last day there since I’m moving to attend a new college. While working that job I carried a Skeletool CX everywhere because it had the pliers with wire cutters and a bit driver – the two thigns I needed most on that job. Since joining multitool.org I’ve been reading a lot about various tools and realizing how many there actually are, so I’ve been going back and forth to find the most suitable tool for everyday carry (EDC) now that I’m just a student. The final choice fell on the Victorinox Climber, as it has tools that are very useful in everyday use instead of more heavy duty tools like pliers and bit drivers.

As you might have seen in other articles on this site the Climber has gotten the wooden treatment for scales, as I don’t much care for tweezers and toothpicks. I’ve also added a nail nick to the hook, bought a small flat head screwdriver designed to fit in the corkscrew and yesterday I found you could fit a needle and thread behind the hook. Today I got a massive package from home containing some mail that arrived after I moved and among that was a bunch of cheap sheaths from DealExtreme that I hoped would fit 91mm Victorinox knives. They did, and they are very nice. Good quality with some nice details like velcro that is sown under the edge of the sheath so it doesn’t hang lose, decent velcro , flexible walls and a metal ring added to the belt loop on the back. I recommend everyone with a 91mm Victorinox knife to get one just to try it out – for $1.50 shipped you can’t go wrong.