Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Looking for a multi tool reccamendation

Offline Superrik

• New User
Looking for a multi tool reccamendation
on: September 26, 2010, 06:27:58 PM
Hey, multi tool enthusiasts.  I need to pick up something new and there is a LOT out there right now.  I've done a bit of research, but would like to know if I've overlooked anything.  I'm a theater technician, so the majority of use is to do quick wiring fixes on lighting equipment, screwdrivers, and the pocket knife. 

Right now, I am leaning towards the Gerber Legend.  I really like the fact that you can access every tool in it without having to open it up, since 9/10 times I'm utilizing it as a very quick adjustment of some sort.  I also like having the spring loaded pliers as it feels much better in the hand, allowing me to work quicker.  The actual plier unit seems a bit bulky, however, and I'm not sure how useful it would really be.

The leatherman wave is also high on my list because I think it offers the best set of needle-nose pliers.  I'm often using my multi-tool to get into hard-to-reach places and it is much more narrow and has a bit more length than the legend.  However, having to fully open the tool to get to my screwdrivers would annoy the hell out of me.

I've looked at some of the other brands that offer more standard electrician multitools, with strippers instead of the needle-nose, but I have found the needlenose to be more utilitarian and I can often just use the wire cutters to carefully make any repair that requires stripping the wire.  Would love to see if there are any brands you think I need to consider or if I have overlooked another multitool that has the pros of both of these models.  Thanks!

ca Offline jzmtl

• Absolutely No Life Club
Re: Looking for a multi tool reccamendation
Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 06:36:55 PM
Have you looked at the Paladin tools? Or the Bear electrician?

scotland Offline Gareth