Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Problem Pioneer Pruner?

Offline knifewing

Problem Pioneer Pruner?
on: July 31, 2012, 12:02:42 AM
I recently purchased a new silver Alox Pioneer Pruner. I like everything about it EXCEPT when I open the pruning blade using the nail nick there's a "click" as the point of the hook blade seems to slide against the closed spearpoint blade. I'm new to the Alox models but I've never noticed anything like it on any other Victorinox knife I've ever had. Is this normal on a two-bladed Alox model to have this kind of sideways blade play/interaction? Thanks for any info anyone can provide.

us Offline Marius

• No Life Club
Re: Problem Pioneer Pruner?
Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 01:44:09 AM
It is not normal IMO but not that unexpected. None of my Pruners do this but there is not much play allowed there and I can see how it happen. When the pruning blade is slowly closing you should see its tip being about equally spaced between the alox scale and the main blade.

Is the main blade flush (from tang to tip) when closed with the scale on the other side? It may happen that your Pruner got a less twisted or heavier main blade, like the Solo has, not leaving sufficient room for the pruning blade.

Do you have a photo of your SAK with both blades closed, from above (spines)?

us Offline bushidomosquito

Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 06:14:39 AM