Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Air travel friendly Multitools?

Offline vadsoom

Air travel friendly Multitools?
on: November 27, 2006, 09:50:42 PM
Prior to 9/11, I lived in Tokyo, making countless flights to Asia and back with my trusty Leatherman in a belt sheath.

Since 9/11, technology has advanced to the point where I can now carry all of the items I need (clothes, cables, laptop, some small "approved" tools, toothbrush, etc.) for most business trips, foreign or domestic, in a single carry-on bag. There's one exception - I'm a field engineer and rely on my Leatherman Charge. Since I can't carry it on board, I get stuck checking bags. 

On my last trip, my bag was lost. It ended up being recovered less than 24 hours later, but has me thinking about trying to figure out some kind of tool I can carry that won't be confiscated by the TSA.  I don't want to break any laws, but am in need of the pliers, scissors and screwdrivers most of all. Actually, I could probably make due without a knife (I know, blasphemy), which is, I think, the stumbling block.

I would prefer something of good quality, but might make an exception if there was something inexpensive enough not to worry about losing at the hands of an overzealous TSA agent.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks Much!

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Air travel friendly Multitools?
Reply #1 on: November 27, 2006, 10:17:49 PM
I don't know what exactly is and isn't permissable nowadays but if you could make do withoput a knife blade, you might want to look into some of the SOG tools.  They are the only full sized multitools that are customizeable, so you could get one and remove the blade, possibly even replacing it with another tool you might find useful.