Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

How to sharpen 58mm cut&picker and wharncliff blades?

Offline Haggai

• New User
How to sharpen 58mm cut&picker and wharncliff blades?
on: November 12, 2012, 11:05:39 PM
Hi.

I apologize for the long first message, but I have a lot of questions... hope you understand.

I'm quite new to multitools, I only have a Victorinox Lumberjack I bought 10 years ago and used only occasionally for trips abroad. After gathering a few small keychain gadgets (an amazingly useful Spyderco Bug, a pico widgy, an oscar delta's v-cutter and uncle bill's tweezers), I decided to try to pack the tools into a smaller, tighter package, so I wanted a small SAK.

I just bought a used Vagabond off eBay, and I need to sharpen its blades a bit.

I have DMT diasharp mini kit (325, 600 and 1200 grit) flat sharpeners. I also have a Buck diamond conical pocket sharpener (don't know the grit, quite rough). I also have a Gerber ceramic pocket sharpener which is too rough and isn't too useful for anything in my opinion (I only managed to scratch the blades of my Bug and Lumberjack before using the DMT flat sharpeners on them successfully).

The main blade was quite easy to sharpen to slice paper nicely, using only the 600 and 1200 grit sharpeners.

I have a problem with both the Wharncliff and cut&picker blades.

With the cut&picker I had more luck, using the flat sharpeners. Didn't get to a nice paper slicing edge like with the main blade, but the angle isn't suitable for that, I guess. Cuts nicely through cardboard in straight lines without picking too much material, but not so much through plastic clamshell packages where it's very hard to pull through. How can I sharpen it further? I use the same method I used for the main blade, but the chisel grind is new to me, and I couldn't sharpen the bend with the flat sharpeners and the round one I have seems a bit too rough for the task.