Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Designing a New Tool

Offline will123

• New User
Designing a New Tool
on: March 13, 2008, 01:55:46 PM
Hey guys, i am an engineering student designing a multi-tool as part of a project. Could anyone give me some details of why they prefered a specific MT, or of any features that made this tool stand out from the rest.

Many thanks

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Designing a New Tool
Reply #1 on: March 13, 2008, 02:23:21 PM
Hi Will and welcome to the forum!

I split this into a new topic figuring you are going to get a hundred different answers and it might as well stand on it's own!

Frankly I think every tool out there has at least something to offer, even the ones I personally didn't care for very much.  For example, looking at the cheap dime store tools in my collection like the Sheffield Mountaineer you see that it contains a number of interesting features, like the brass screws so that tool tension can be adjusted, the implements could be replaced or rotated to suit user preference, or simply disassembled for cleaning.  It also has a handy carabiner clip, the awl that so many folks like but is often ignored, and spring loaded pliers to help relieve fatigue during extended use.  Oh yeah, and the broad, plastic covered handles are quite comfortable.

Heck if you want to know what many of us thought was particularly good about many tools, check out the main site at www.Multitool.org and read the reviews.  At the bottom of many of them there is a "Pros/Cons" section that sums it up for you.

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

gb Offline Mike, Lord of the Spammers!

• Chief of the Absolutely No Life Club!
  • Abandon All Hope Ye Who Enter Here...
  • Why haven't you got a Farmer yet!
Reply #2 on: March 13, 2008, 02:57:51 PM