Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Slip Joint Safety

us Offline gustophersmob

• No Life Club
  • <><
Slip Joint Safety
on: April 26, 2013, 05:08:11 AM
Not sure if this is the best sub-forum for this...

As I am wont to do, I tend to over analyze things.  The last couple of days I've been thinking about slip joints, and their safety.  I've been carrying and using a SAK for many years, and thankfully have yet to get bitten. But the thought of that strong backspring snapping that blade closed on my fingers makes my skin crawl.

This is primarily why I am trying out a Rebar as a possible EDC replacement for my Pioneer.  It would be very hard to close the Rebar blades on my fingers.

I know this is overly paranoid, and any knife is only as safe as the operator, but I was wondering what you folks thought?  Has anyone been bitten by a slip joint that they weren't abusing?

I really like my SAKs and I'm making myself overly paranoid, I think  :twak:
If the trees blew down the wind and no one was around, would the alphabet song really go backwards?

00 Offline kirk13

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
Re: Slip Joint Safety
Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 09:26:04 AM
In short,no!

I've had SAKs since I was twelve,never had it happen.Drivers yes,but only when I've been using them in inappropriate manners.

Had a UKPK close up on me too,which made me rethink OHO slip pies,but in fairness,it was getting into the abuse range of use too
There is no beginning,or ending,and for this we are thankful,cos now is hard enough to understand!

wales Offline Boyo17

Reply #2 on: April 26, 2013, 09:41:37 AM
I've never caught myself with a closing blade but have had too many close calls when the blade has slipped and started to close.  So I don't like slipjoints. 

However,,,,, the SAK's offer the best selection of blades for my use and the steel is good enough to get a shaving edge so I love them.