Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Quite annoying when this happens to you...

bmot · 16 · 1309

nl Offline bmot

• No Life Club
  • Don't judge a tool by it's brand
Quite annoying when this happens to you...
on: June 19, 2013, 01:25:05 AM
You're just easily making your way over the waves...

When suddenly you hear a hard crack...

Part 1

Part 2

:facepalm:
http://gcaptain.com/mol-box-ship-suffers-broken-back-sinks-off-yeme/
A knife-carrying guide for the international traveller. : http://forum.multitool.org/index.php/topic,47532.0.html

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Quite annoying when this happens to you...
Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 01:46:53 AM
That's what I do for a living.  She looks like she was overloaded.  :D

Def

Sent from a digital multitool
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

nl Offline bmot

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 01:50:04 AM
Wrongly loaded, at least, maybe.

This is what the website I got if from says about it:

From a naval architecture standpoint, this is a puzzling situation.  Ships are designed to handle long period and large waves that crest on the bow and stern and have a trough amidships. This creates a sagging situation that puts extreme tension on the keel and compression at deck level. The opposite, “hogging” situation occurs when the crest of the wave moves to the center of the ship and the trough of the waves are at bow and stern.The repeat flexing of the ship in these perfectly timed waves is likely what caused the loss of this vessel.  In the photo above, a perfect example of hogging is shown, where the bow and the stern are both lying in the troughs of two waves.