Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Suggest my next Leatherman

gdc · 37 · 3236

Offline gdc

Suggest my next Leatherman
on: September 17, 2013, 04:12:55 PM
Hi all:

I am a long-time LM user and I got ahold of a Leatherman TTi this year.  Main attractions were the blades accessible w/o opening the pliers and the premium blade steel.  It is a great tool but it is really heavy.  I don't need the saw or the file.  I find that carrying it with the pocket clip pulls my pants down.  Even in a backpack (small one I take mountain biking) its weight is notable as compared to my SOG Paratool.  The paratool has its own limitations, of course. 

I had previously looked at the Skeletool but was not impressed with the knife blade.

I will keep the TTi for my daily kit bag--it is a great tool--but I was wondering if any of you LM gurus have suggestions.  I am not an expert on their whole line.

Thanks,

us Offline Shotgundoug13

Re: Suggest my next Leatherman
Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 04:16:45 PM
Surge or OHT
Leatherman tools: Surge, Kick, Freestyle, Wingman, Style CS, C33LX, REBAR, OHT, Supertool 300, Wave
Victorinox tools: Alox Farmer, Classic SD
Gerber tools: Flik

nl Offline bmot

• No Life Club
  • Don't judge a tool by it's brand
Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 05:06:43 PM
If the tti is too heavy for you, have a look at the Juice-series. The S2 is a good option if you're okay with it's limited toolset.

Also take a look at the Gerber Balance. Loved by quite a lot of people here on the forum, it has about the same toolset of the Juice S2, but in a very different form.

I'm not sure what you don't like of the Skeletool's blade, personally, I like it a lot, though I'd prefer the CX's one.
A knife-carrying guide for the international traveller. : http://forum.multitool.org/index.php/topic,47532.0.html

au Offline gregozedobe

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Apparently it is possible to have too many tools;)