Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Arkansas stones to sharpen SAKs?

us Offline Gardel

Arkansas stones to sharpen SAKs?
on: November 22, 2013, 02:51:38 AM
I'm considering purchasing some Arkansas stones to maintain my SAKs (and INOX Opinels). Do Arkansas stones work well for these knives?

I have a lot of experience freehand sharpening with Japanese bench-sized water whetstones but would prefer to maintain my pocket knives in the field instead and not need to be concerned with water. I'm thinking about one or more Arkansas stones and using honing oil.

au Offline Syndicate

Re: Arkansas stones to sharpen SAKs?
Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 05:21:47 AM
Have you looked at ceramic stones? They don't need water or oil, and should be more durable, also available in a variety of grits.

00 Offline Fattsgalore

Reply #2 on: November 22, 2013, 07:21:50 AM
Any method you chose should be adequate. Victorinox steel is soft (which I somewhat dislike) but it lends it's self to easy sharpening.

I've sharpened blades with the bottom of a coffee mug, you should be fine...

us Offline kmanct3

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: November 22, 2013, 01:13:55 PM
Any Spyderco sharpening device.

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.
Reply #4 on: November 22, 2013, 01:25:54 PM
I'm considering purchasing some Arkansas stones to maintain my SAKs (and INOX Opinels). Do Arkansas stones work well for these knives?

I have a lot of experience freehand sharpening with Japanese bench-sized water whetstones but would prefer to maintain my pocket knives in the field instead and not need to be concerned with water. I'm thinking about one or more Arkansas stones and using honing oil.
They work great. I used those kinds of stones for years for all kinds of blades. It will take a little practice to get it down. But once you do, it will turn a blade into a razor.

sent from Nate's mobile

Nate

SEND IT!