Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Victorinox SwissTool + SwissTool Spirit Review.

Chako · 25 · 62487

ca Offline Chako

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
Victorinox SwissTool + SwissTool Spirit Review.
on: July 03, 2009, 02:35:40 AM
Well it is that time again, when I write down my own personal thoughts and add a few photographs and attempt to wrangle those two together into a seamless whole. Yeah right!
This time, I will take a closer look at those multi-tools currently produced by Victorinox…The SwissTool and the smaller SwissTool Spirit. Just be warned, I am by no means an expert on this line. What follows are my thoughts and general ramblings. I am sure I may be making some mistakes with my facts. If so, please correct me.

Intro and other stuff
I believe Victorinox starting producing multi-tools back in 97. By that time, Leatherman had been producing such items for about 14 years. With that said, Victorinox has been producing Swiss Army knives since 1884…and well…that is a very long time to be in the cutlery business. Enough time to perfect what they do. Most of you know that Swiss Army knives (SAKs) exude quality that the Swiss are world renown for…and their plier based multi-tools follow suit. Anyways, they took their time evaluating a bunch of competition products and produced their first take on it, the venerable SwissTool back in 97. It is a testament that this multi-tool is still in production, albeit with a few slightly different models. We will get into greater detail about that later in this short article.
The SwissTool Spirit is a newer model that has a more ergonomic handle shape, along with a smaller footprint and lighter weight. It was introduced I believe in 2004, and there have been a few variations introduced since then.

In this short article, I shall endeavor to discuss the 5 models that I currently own.