Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Zap's Custom 3D Printed Facemask

us Offline ZapWizard

Zap's Custom 3D Printed Facemask
on: July 31, 2020, 10:51:28 PM

These days my EDC now includes a face mask.
I am not satisfied with the face masks currently on the market. They are either way too large and leak out the sides, or are simply uncomfortable and bulky.

Via the 3D printing nerd on YouTube: I came across the Bellus 3D App, which allows you make a surprisingly accurate 3D scan of your face using any iPhone that has Face ID.

Their app also can generate a 3D printable frame that makes existing masks fit better. And their frame solution works great to seal the edges and in general makes the mask a bit more comfortable. However it still pinched the top of my nose, and require extra straps. It also pulled down any mask material such that is smashed the tip of my nose.

As a mechanical product engineer I couldn't leave well enough alone and starting thinking of a better design. There are already a lot of very bulky designs out there, and the NIH is working to share [urlhttps://3dprint.nih.gov/ 3D printable personal protection gear[/url].

Here are my goals:
  • Comfortable
  • Easy to take on/off
  • Seals to my face
  • Swappable/washable filters
  • Easy to clean components
  • Doesn't smash my nose

-----------

So after many hours of design and various alternate designs that didn't work for one reason or another, I have settled on this design. It uses a gasket, frame, filter holder, and cloth filter.

To design it I used the Bellus3D app to do a full head scan which  I could import into my CAD software (Solid Edge). I opened the scan in MeshMixer and then smoothed it out a bit. Solid Edge has some cool reverse engineering tools that let you work from tessellated models and 3D scans. This gives me some surfaces to work from that perfectly fit my face.