Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Sharpening Methods

us Offline El Corkscrew

• Absolutely No Life Club
Sharpening Methods
on: November 08, 2016, 02:40:01 AM
Greetings fellow Knights,

Got my first Tinker from my dad at age 8, always had an affinity for SAKs.  Lately I've been buying used SAKs off the big auction site and have purchased a couple new Compacts (a red for EDC and a black for collection's sake).    Also purchased the Vic Dual Sharpener and have been practicing on some of my more used blades with decent results. I am a novice when it comes to sharpening skills.  I watched all the videos I could for advice on using this sharpener but would like to know what kind of sharpening methods y'all are using to get that factory-sharpness or better.  Videos would be grand.

Thanks,
El Corkscrew
“All you need in this life is ignorance and confidence, and then success is sure.” - Mark Twain

us Offline irona

Re: Sharpening Methods
Reply #1 on: November 08, 2016, 02:51:02 AM
I've been using a lansky for the past year with great results

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

id Offline jaya_man

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: November 08, 2016, 03:01:33 AM
Most of the time I use the dual sharpener... sometimes use the Spyderco Sharpmaker when the blade is really dull (usually for purchased second hand SAKS and for sharpening scissors)... In either case, I use a leather strop afterwards...

us Offline metasyntax

Reply #3 on: November 08, 2016, 03:14:31 AM
I use the Sharpmaker at 40° with the fine and sometimes ultra-fine stones (medium as necessary for a duller blade). But I'm no expert by any stretch, it's just what I can do that works. The resulting edge will slice through phone book paper with ease, that's good enough for me.
May it be as the Pattern has chosen.

hk Offline aurabattler

Reply #4 on: November 08, 2016, 07:34:01 AM
I use the dual sharpener. It works especially well on sak and also works on leatherman.