Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Edge thoughs...

Offline borei

• New User
Edge thoughs...
on: December 08, 2016, 10:11:26 PM
Hello friends!

I am visiting this forum for very long time, learned so much! I came from one of Balkan countries, and I work as a professional mountain guide. This is my first post here! (That is why there is short introduction  :drink:)

I don`t want to ask question on baton or not baton, knife or not knife... There are so much topics like that, with endless discussion... I have real question about knives... I know a lot of people who go through life without knife, guides also and other outdoor people, but I will say on the beginning that I always carry a knife in the mountains and forests. Not because I`m used to carry it, but because I use it daily - for improvising tent pegs, foraging mushrooms, plants, and making things I use in the camps. I could "survive" without a knife, this is not a question here, I talk about it as a tool a use very often.

Last few years people are going crazy about knives, they have fear of everything... And I am not making it up... Few months ago a friend bought two Mora knives for him and me, and police took it away from him... They were in his car and they stopped him for check and took his knives... You don`t break a law in our state even if you carry it on yourself, but try to explain it to few policemen who stop you... Impossible... Here comes the question... I like carrying fixed knife, easier to clean, better handle... But I am planning to almost completely move to only folding knives because of such reasons... As a guide, I am always between airport, town and the hills, so it is much easier to conceal few folding knives, than to think about police checking me and making me problems for having fixed blade... And when I need something more than a folding knife, a small hatchet for me is much more usable than "bushcraft" knife.