Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

damaged ranger camping & angler

gb Offline ally

damaged ranger camping & angler
on: December 18, 2016, 06:35:44 PM
I'm new to sak collecting and have been fortunate to purchase the bulk of somebody's old collection at very keen prices, the latest batch came with a ranger camping, which I think I have dated correctly as 1991-1992

this is the only knife so far that I have had trouble opening and closing the tools (except for the awl's which get me every time - awaiting the extra strong thumb nail)

in particular the cap lifter and can opener blades are really bad, the can opener especially, the old girl had a bath and oil (must dig out my ultrasonic) which helped a little and I removed a surprising amount of debris considering the condition of the tools which look unused

I did find that the scissor spring would fold under itself when the scissors were retracted, removed the spring (grooved type) and the snap of the cap lifter is a little improved, sadly not the can opener

this suggests that  the spring fouling has pushed the other tools over, however the large blade is stiff too and this sits on the opposite side, the small blade is ok, woodsaw ok, metal file no snap, all back tools ok

does this point to bent pins?

now, dug through the pile and found my angler to use the pliers to save said thumb nail and really like it's form factor but not the fish scaler, has anybody modded one with a metal saw? ok, there's the deluxe tinker but I think a 4 layer is the sweet spot although I currently carry a ranger camping but find it a tad too large for the watch pocket though the belt loop sorts that out

I will be sending of to burton mccall for a service (very scruffy 84mm golfer there at the moment - should have taken pics before it went away) but wanted your thoughts

:)

pt Offline MacGyver

• No Life Club
Re: damaged ranger camping & angler
Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 11:35:15 AM