Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Tool "master kits"

Poll

Can the maker make master kits?

Leatherman
2 (100%)
Gerber
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 2

Offline wbyrulz

• New User
Tool "master kits"
on: January 24, 2017, 05:30:16 PM
I would really like to see Leatherman sell a "master kit" of some sort. A package that includes the pliers main body along with all of the option tools. Then the buyer can put it together with the tools that they want. I'm a truck mechanic and use the original one. Because every tool that has been made keeps coming with things they don't need or no longer have the ones they used to have. Mechanics don't need wood saws, scissors, bottle openers, more than one flat screwdriver, more than one knife blade but still use the file, small-tipped awl, needle-nose, one good knife blade, all while still being small enough to get into tight areas. I like the idea of the vise grip but would still like to fold it. There are other mechanics that need different tools, so they could make their own. Make a master kit for each different tool body. Not just the original one. Some people like ones that don't fold out, with clips, etc. And it doesn't have to be just Leatherman. Gerber, Sog, whoever. I think they'd make a ton of money!

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Tool "master kits"
Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 02:54:21 AM
There's more to tool design than sticking in some screwdrivers into plier handles- it seems simple but it really isn't if you want to do it right.

That's the difference between a good tool and a cheap one and many manufacturers haven't even clued in to that.