Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

SAK to pliers-based: What did it take for you to switch?

Smaug · 25 · 1675

us Offline Smaug

• No Life Club
  • Desk Jockey
I'm a SAK guy now, but I WANT to like pliers-based tools more.

When I was an electrical technician and I came across a nut or bolt where I could use the big pliers, I never did it because I didn't want to chew up the head of the fastener. I always went and got a socket set or adjustable wrench or combo wrench.

I did get some use out of the needlenosed pliers, but they're so slippery and heavy, compared to a regular tool version.

Finally, I decided to just carry a needlenosed pliers, adjustable wrench, and six-in-one screwdriver in my back pocket, and a SAK in my front pocket.

Now, I fly a desk and never need more than a Vic Classic. I feel like such a failure around here!
-Jeremy
"Well begun is half done."
-Aristotle

us Offline detron

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Tool Carrying Linux User
Re: SAK to pliers-based: What did it take for you to switch?
Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 04:56:43 AM
I fly a desk too, don't feel bad,  but once in a while,  I can save the day!  though it may be some small think like pulling a tac out of wood.

but I feel good having tools on me,  and they pay off.

today I was able to use both my Charge TTi and my SwissChamp.
some sailors were trying to remove a wood shelf from the wall,  the screws were just spinning and not retreating (they used screws that have no thread on the 2 inches or so closest to the head).  I used the chisel to make a small gouge on one side of the screw, the used the can opener to lightly pry back while the sailor unscrewed it with a drill,  the can opener actually worked well on holding the screw head while allowing it to spin.  this worked great.

then I used the Charge to grab and remove the drywall anchors from another wall before the sailors painted it. 

for me, this was a great day tool wise.