Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Original Leatherman Super Tool

us Offline Poncho65

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Original Leatherman Super Tool
on: November 23, 2008, 02:31:03 AM
Well Guys this is my first try at anything like this so go easy on me :angel: Especially since this is such an awesome tool hope I have done it a little justice sorry if the pics aren't the best as well :)

Where to begin?

The original Big Boy of Multitools the Leatherman Super Tool

The Tool Itself

The Super Tool was the third tool produced in the Leatherman Lineup and the first 4 and a half inch tool. The Super Tool was produced from 1994 through 2001 where it was replaced by the Leatherman Super Tool 200. Also of note is that some of the early models of the Super Tool as with the early PSTs lacked a hard wire notch. The Super Tool had a great run in it's 7 year run.  This is a tough tool that was built for everyday heavy duty use and abuse.   

The tools of it where also bigger and beefier than it's smaller counterpart (PST) and each tool locked.  It included 18 listed tools. A clip-point knife, a serrated knife, needlenose pliers, regular pliers, wire cutters, hard-wire cutters, electric crimper, small, med, large screwdrivers, a phillips head screwdriver, wood/metal file,a saw, a wire stripper, a bottle opener, a can opener, 9 in / 22 cm ruler, and an awl.

The Blades

The knife blades of the Super Tool are a very fine example of each type the first is a clip-point blade and the second is also a clip point serrated blade (not seen to my knowledge in any other of the larger Leatherman example Super Tool 200, Core etc.)

Plier Head

The plier head is of a combination type neither a true needlenose nor a true regular plier head and it makes for a great multi use plier head. It also incorporates a regular wire cutter with a hard-wire notch.