Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Has anyone broken the tang using a flat screwdriver/ prying bar on a Spirit?

Vidar · 23 · 1006

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
In my little feature poll in the general forum a prying bar keeps getting mentioned, and I would like one personally too. My worry though is that having a prying bar is asking for abuse. I might be wrong or too pessimistic about that though, so some real life experiences might help. And as I'm hesitant to break my only Spirit I'll try asking here instead.

I figure the weak spot for a (stiff enough) prying bar is at the tang. The Spirit certainly has an unusually thick flat screwdriver/ prying bar, so that is stiff. My question then is has anyone broken the tang area or made it sloppy when using a the Spirit for prying?
"Simple is hard"
"Hard is hard too"
(Partial disclosure: I design tools for a living).

no Offline Vidar

• No Life Club
Ah, smurf it. I'll just put that tip in a vise, cross my fingers, and do my worst..  :ahhh
"Simple is hard"
"Hard is hard too"

ie Offline Don Pablo

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Yoo-hoo, big summer blowout!
Ah, smurf it. I'll just put that tip in a vise, cross my fingers, and do my worst..  :ahhh
Nooooooooo....  :ahhh
Hooked, like everyone else. ;)

All hail the hook!

es Offline ThePeacent

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Firm believer of Sturgeon's Law
I've pried the hell out of it and hasn't broken or bent yet  :salute:

IME the most common failure point is the pivot which can easily get bent and deformed when applying force at the far end of the flathead/prybar/tool, especially if the pivot or rivet is made of softer materials (aluminum, brass, etc.) but those in the Spirit are thick and made of tough material  :like:
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 12:01:11 PM by ThePeacent »
My toys: