Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Legal to carry multitool/knife in Bangalore, India?

tr Offline ddogu

• No Life Club
If everything goes right, I'll be going to Bangalore, India for a couple of months in July. I haven't seen anyone from India in the forum but maybe somebody has some information/experience: Can I legally carry e.g. a LM Wave or an Victorinox Pioneer? I wouldn't want my beloved tools be confiscated by the police :(

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Re: Legal to carry multitool/knife in Bangalore, India?
Reply #1 on: May 08, 2019, 01:34:34 PM
Not a lawyer by trade, and internet might be the last place to sort for this kinda advice.  Take it with a grain of salt, a very quick search and googlefu do seems local law permits carrying a knife so as long it is within a certain dimension. 

However, just from personal experience, whenever I travel to a new location, even knowing it is perfectly legal to carry knives/tools, I will always pocket/bag carry it to avoid unnecessary attention/suspension.  The whole point of having one around is for convenience, but not to attract inconvenience or headaches/heartaches over it.   

tr Offline ddogu

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: May 08, 2019, 01:36:46 PM
Not a lawyer by trade, and internet might be the last place to sort for this kinda advice.  Take it with a grain of salt, a very quick search and googlefu do seems local law permits carrying a knife so as long it is within a certain dimension. 

However, just from personal experience, whenever I travel to a new location, even knowing it is perfectly legal to carry knives/tools, I will always pocket/bag carry it to avoid unnecessary attention/suspension.  The whole point of having one around is for convenience, but not to attract inconvenience or headaches/heartaches over it.   

Fair enough...  :tu:
How's the situation in HK, by the way?

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice