Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Anyone EDC food?

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Anyone EDC food?
Reply #30 on: May 26, 2019, 05:06:56 PM
I have little experience with real winter but it seems to me that if you kept water bottles in an insulated cooler that it would prevent them from freezing or at least contain the spill if any bottles did burst from freezing. Just a thought.

Winters vary greatly, but the short answer is that the water will eventually freeze, it will just take longer in a cooler.  By themselves the water may freeze in a few hours or overnight, while in a cooler it could take a few days, but it will freeze eventually.

I also second hat Nate said about the plastic bottles.  I used to leave a case of bottled water in the back of the Jeep and they would freeze, and I don't recall any of them actually rupturing.

Of course, there's not a lot of point to having water in the car if it's virtually useless to you when you need it.

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

us Offline nate j

• No Life Club
Reply #31 on: May 26, 2019, 11:06:38 PM
Of course, there's not a lot of point to having water in the car if it's virtually useless to you when you need it.

That's where the cans of Sterno and stainless steel cup come in.   :cheers:

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Reply #32 on: May 26, 2019, 11:46:56 PM
And a knife to cut away the bottle.  Yes, I have done it before.  :D

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

gb Offline Millhouse

• No Life Club
  • This isn't me, but I'm just as dysfunctional
Reply #33 on: May 27, 2019, 12:29:52 AM
I keep a can of Red Bull in my work bag.