Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Looking for slimmest scissors and saw

us Offline Tarheelpwr

Looking for slimmest scissors and saw
on: May 25, 2019, 03:59:23 AM
I’m very new to SAK - been mostly a plier based MT guy.  But, I’m looking for a scissor and saw to compliment my EDC center drive.

I see the huntsman, but that has LOTS of stuff i. Don’t need. Is there anything smaller?

Can someone make me a 2 layer tool with the scissors and saw?  I wouldn’t mind both metal and wood saws if I had to add somethings.

us Offline Blackbeard

• No Life Club
  • One Day Closer To Death
Re: Looking for slimmest scissors and saw
Reply #1 on: May 25, 2019, 04:47:41 AM
maybe an older discontinued model has that configuration, but I don't think there is one now, huntsman or the evolution 18 version are probably the "smallest"
The evo has no hook, but is probably about same width as huntsman.

us Offline nate j

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: May 25, 2019, 04:56:35 AM
Welcome to the world of SAK!
 :cheers:

With regard to current production models with both scissors and saw, I'm afraid a four-layer knife (Huntsman, Fieldmaster, Evo 17, or Evo 18) is as small as it gets.

The saw takes a full layer (typically with no back spring tool).  The scissors also take a full layer (typically with hook on the back spring).  I don't see any technical reason why a two-layer mod consisting of just these two layers could not be done.

Other mod options might include Compact + saw, or Huntsman (or similar) - opener layer, either of which would be a three-layer mod.

FWIW, I find the Huntsman (or equivalents) to be easy pocket carry, though not everyone agrees.

au Offline Huntsman

• Global Moderator
  • No Life Club
Reply #3 on: May 25, 2019, 07:35:29 AM
^^^^  Yep - That is the story

However - As my name might suggest - I can thoroughly recommend the Hunstman - I carried one for decades   :tu:   :D