Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Sharpener Suggestions?

us Offline BadMechanic

Sharpener Suggestions?
on: January 26, 2020, 11:49:32 PM
Im not an expert on blades or the sharpening of such. I was wondering if there were any suggestions on user friendly options.

Im not a heavy blade user, but some of mine are starting to dull. With so many options out there, not sure exactly where to start.

Any help is appreciated.  :tu:

gb Offline chip

• No Life Club
Re: Sharpener Suggestions?
Reply #1 on: January 26, 2020, 11:56:52 PM
I have all kinds of sharpening gadgets and waterstones. But always return to my lansky turnbox for ease of use. I do have a sharpmaker too but prefer the round rods of the lansky to the triangle rods of the sharpmaker.
My trouble is i never show initiative, but that's only because no one has told me to.

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #2 on: January 27, 2020, 01:17:09 AM
Look no further than the Lansky Turnbox. Reasonably priced, will sharpen all but a really dull blade and easy to use.

https://smile.amazon.com/Deluxe-Turnbox-Crock-Stick-Sharpener/dp/B005GSUBPA/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=Lansky+Turnbox&qid=1580084123&sr=8-4

us Offline BadMechanic

Reply #3 on: January 27, 2020, 01:26:44 AM
Ill have to check out Lansky I suppose!

Thanks guys  :cheers:

us Offline Marcellus

• What does Marcellus Wallace look like?
Reply #4 on: January 27, 2020, 03:33:37 AM
Look no further than the Lansky Turnbox. Reasonably priced, will sharpen all but a really dull blade and easy to use.

https://smile.amazon.com/Deluxe-Turnbox-Crock-Stick-Sharpener/dp/B005GSUBPA/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=Lansky+Turnbox&qid=1580084123&sr=8-4

Yes,  this one!! 

us Offline Sos24

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #5 on: January 27, 2020, 04:13:07 AM
If you have trouble maintaining the proper angle while sharpening, like I do, I would recommend the DMT system with guide aligner or the Lansky system.