Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Blunt Skeletool KBX Sharpening Advice

00 Offline jmwalker404

• New User
  • I like stuff.
Blunt Skeletool KBX Sharpening Advice
on: May 21, 2020, 06:18:49 PM
HEEEELP!

I foolishly tried to sharpen my Skeletool KBX on the free smiths pocket sharpener that came with the knife.
it didnt really need sharpening and now it's blunt as hell (I am a sharpening noob!)

Any ideas as to how to get the thing sharp again gratefully received?? No matter how much I try to sharpen it on the smiths tool it doesnt get any sharper.

Also - this might sound really strange - how do you know if the knife is "optimally sharp" - and dont say "try cutting something!" :)

It "feels" sharp to run my thumb across it but it struggles to slice a piece of paper (like you see on youtube tutorials! ) 
JimJam

LM Skeletool KBX
LM Surge
LM Skeletool Topo
LM Micra
Morakniv Carbon

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Re: Blunt Skeletool KBX Sharpening Advice
Reply #1 on: May 21, 2020, 06:39:41 PM
Do yourself a favor and get a Lansky Turnbox. Easiest way to maintain a sharp edge on most knives and they are are pretty inexpensive.

Welcome to the forum !    :cheers:

us Offline Sos24

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #2 on: May 21, 2020, 07:48:29 PM
 I had the same experience in the past.

I’ve never tried the Lansky turnbox that Steve recommended, but have heard good things about it. 

I use a DMT sharpening kit with a aligner guide that I’ve used for years.  It is similar to a Lansky SharpeningSystem with Guide.  The guides are nice if you do not feel comfortable free hand.

us Offline zrxoa1

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: May 21, 2020, 10:36:19 PM
And get yourself a really good strop!!  Many times a few passes on a strop is all that’s needed to get the blade back to hair popping sharpness.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

us Offline theonew

• No Life Club
Reply #4 on: May 22, 2020, 02:01:10 AM