Multitool.org Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Best Knife/MT Oil 444

No Life Club Posts: 2,513
Best Knife/MT Oil
« on: August 13, 2020, 08:19:15 PM »
Evening all  :salute:

I'm quite new to the collecting thing (18 months or so) but always had an interest  :tu:

I was wondering what type of oil/lube (no rude comments please, you know who you are  :rofl: )

I recently acquired a Spyderco UKPK (amongst other things) but I have noticed that, despite VERY little actual use, it seems like it needs a helping hand as it's getting stiff around the pivot (ok Reinier you might as well chime in now  :facepalm: )

Any thoughts... :think:

FYI: I have done a search but there are so many options that it's impossible to refine it...

They don't like it up 'em!
Absolute Zombie Club Posts: 20,949 Bored

dks cy

Re: Best Knife/MT Oil
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2020, 08:26:50 PM »
Victorinox oil works well and is food safe.

most light oils work too

Kelly: "Daddy, what makes men cheat on women?
Al : "Women!"

[ Knife threads ]  [ Country shopping guides ]  [ Battery-Charger-Light threads ]  [ Picture threads ]
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2020, 08:33:37 PM »
Victorinox oil works well and is food safe.

most light oils work too
:hatsoff: :salute: :tu:

Global Moderator Absolute Zombie Club Posts: 24,564
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2020, 08:49:48 PM »
I use 3in1 for my Leatherman MTs.  I add very little to the pivots from time to time and when I get a new to me LM MT, I always clean first then add 3in1 oil to the pivots and give the whole tool a little wipe.  I'm not overly concerned with food safe on those.