Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

wave/rebar custom hybrid project (pic heavy)

us Offline oscillationsions

• they/them
wave/rebar custom hybrid project (pic heavy)
on: January 25, 2021, 11:50:34 PM

hi all,
i see this post as my debut on this website, my introduction to you. i am a newbie to this forum, to forums in general, to multitools, and to metal work and fabrication.

i started obsessing over multitools during my last slump (many slumps [and peaks] during this pandemic.) i found myself resisting because i thought it was a "symptom" of what i was going through. a dear friend reminded me that not everything i do needs to be inspected, criticized and disposed of. so i let go and found some passion. what is driving me in this project is creating the "perfect" everyday carry multitool. for me. which means 1) it has everything i need for edc, nothing i don't. maximum usability in the smallest form factor. i like being useful so being able to whip out a tool that will be able to tackle most things feels nice to me. and 2) it's pleasing to use, tactilely, and functionally.

i found the wave/rebar hybrids some folks have done to be really appealing. i like outside accessible tools for quick, simplified access, but four outside tools felt excessive for me. i also didn't care for the bulging shape the full wave has due to the two protruding blades (i like small things  :).) so half of a wave felt just right. i also just really liked the super simple, yet perfected, reliable design of the rebar.