Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Vic Outrider and Locksmith merger

Offline Berndstein

Vic Outrider and Locksmith merger
on: June 12, 2021, 10:49:55 PM
Hi,

I've been a member of this forum for quite some time and have been benefitted greatly for some of my Leatherman tool mods.

Now I'm trying to mod two of my 111 mm Vics to become the perfect EDC knife for me.
My plan is to add the metal file/saw of the locksmith to my outrider, as well as replace the outrider blade with the locksmith one hand opening blade.
I'm also planning to blacken all the blades and spacers with Ferro Oxide. And I added a deep carry pocket clip to a scale.

Unfortunately, since this is my first attempt at modding a Vic, I damaged two of the 3 mm bushings.
Is there anyway to purchase them from somewhere?

Any help would be appreciated.

Greetings from Germany,

Bernd

Gesendet von meinem Pixel 5 mit Tapatalk

Offline ComboTool

Re: Vic Outrider and Locksmith merger
Reply #1 on: June 13, 2021, 10:25:16 AM
That's a great project, the Ranger tool set in 111mm. Unfortunately I don't know how to get 3mm bushings alone. There is an ebay seller in Germany who sells 2.25 and 2.5 bushings (with brass pins), you may enquire if they have 3mm as well. It's also possible to find SAK spare parts on Aliexpress but I wouldn't know which search terms to use for this. One last possibility (short of destroying an additional SAK) would be to peen your mod without bushings and glue the scales. Good luck and please post pictures of the finished project.

Offline Berndstein

Reply #2 on: June 14, 2021, 03:01:37 PM
Update: After acid etching and stonewashing.
For some reasons the Vic steele doesn't get as dark as the steel of, say, a Spyderco or Benchmade. Also, it doesn't really make much of a difference if you let it soak 15 minutes or 60 minutes.