Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Grip for multi tools

us Offline nelly1974

• No Life Club
  • Pitbulls are people too
Grip for multi tools
on: October 05, 2022, 04:02:06 PM
  I apologize ahead of time if this has already been discussed on here. But I've been using multi tools for 20 years or so. And the slippery nature of these tools sometimes make me opt for regular tools instead. I've tried skateboard tape but it tears clothing up and it starts to come off easily. Any ideas that have worked for you guys?
Thank you in advance.
[

us Offline Alan K.

• Thread Killer 2019
  • Absolutely No Life Club
Re: Grip for multi tools
Reply #1 on: October 05, 2022, 06:18:06 PM
You might try a plastic, non-slip bathtub tape. It has waterproof (but removeable) adhesive, and has a grippy surface that's not as aggressive as skate tape.  Might even feel slightly spongy.  You can get it in strips or in a roll from a quality maker such as 3M. Cut it to fit your tool with a razer blade, or make 1/4 inch dots with a hole punch.  I don't know if it will work on a multitool but it works on tubs and tile and stair treads and is pretty durable.
You can always cut groves or divots or holes for traction with a file, drill, or cut-off wheel, but I hate to do permanent mods that I can't undo.

FarmerTedJoe

Reply #2 on: October 18, 2022, 12:42:42 AM

Leatherman 2.jpg
* Leatherman 2.jpg (Filesize: 429.72 KB)
       I have good luck with Plasti-Dip. It's a spray paint of sorts. I just tape off the tool and apply four coats to the handles. It will wear off fairly easily, but sheaths and pockets are the main source for wear, so I carry in an EDC Pouch. You'll get three months or more without a touch up if you do it that way and the grip is very tacky.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2022, 12:51:47 AM by FarmerTedJoe »

us Online Adam5

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #3 on: October 18, 2022, 01:53:44 AM