Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

my idea for a possible half rebar

us Offline darrylf

my idea for a possible half rebar
on: February 11, 2023, 09:49:19 AM
So here is my idea for a possible half rebar. Before anyone gets up in arms about how this or that aspect of it is a bad idea, let me explain why it might meet my personal needs.

I would carry it alongside my daily standard, the wave.

I’ve been carrying the wave since about 2009. Recently I rediscovered my previous standard (and spare tool) in a drawer—the original super tool. I was immediately reminded of two things I love and miss about that tool—the longer dedicated 3D Phillips, and the awl.

I made a plan to incorporate these two tools into my wave, and thanks to generously provided info on this site I know how to do it, but frankly my progress in this project and “hobby” has been slow and irregular.

In the process I have acquired various Leatherman tools, many of which are in some state of disassembly.

So if you look at my proposed half rebar, you can see that it incorporates the Phillips and awl I have been desiring, along with two bonuses: the slim flat driver from the rebar which I quite like, and the rebar plain blade, which could be very handy when I want a slimmer lighter blade than the one on the wave.

All this without doing any modifications at all on the wave. Also, this half rebar mod is more simply doable with parts on hand.

I think the half rebar has some significant ergonomic advantages due to the slim handle. The drivers and awl will be more elegant to operate than with a standard double-handle tool, and even the blade too.

Thoughts?

us Offline darrylf

Re: my idea for a possible half rebar
Reply #1 on: February 11, 2023, 09:50:06 AM

us Offline darrylf

Reply #2 on: February 11, 2023, 09:59:48 AM
I also have the short rebar bit extender and a bit kit to carry with this.